The 1st Philippine Web Awards (1998 Philippine Webby Awards)

The 1st Philippine Web Awards (marketed as The Philippine Webby Awards) was held on December 9, 1998 at Hard Rock Cafe in Makati, Philippines. Due to some licensing restrictions on the ‘Webby Awards’ name (from the original Webby Awards in the USA that started in 1996), the post-event write-ups and succeeding annual awards then used the name ‘Philippine Web Awards’ instead of ‘Philippine Webby Awards’.

Winners of the 1998 Philippine Web Awards (marketed as the 1998 Philippine Webby Awards), in a group pictorial. Prominent web designers and IT persons include Alastair Israel, Jim Ayson, Cheryl Fuerte, Ronald Guanzon


Over 1,100 entries were received. The awards is created and organized by THE WEB Philippines (a bi-monthly publication of WS Computer Publishing Corporation, Philippine licensee of the International Data Group IDG).


‘Best Websites’ Awards winners

Category Site Name URL
Arts & Design Montifar
Business & Corporate World Executive Digest
Children & Education Agham Science Magazine
Computers Worldtel Phils.
Culture RealPinoy.Com
Environment Haribon Foundation
Family & Personal The Book of Reige
Film & Celebrities Rizal Sa Dapitan
Games Multiplayer Gamerz Phils.
Government & Politics Nat’l. Statistics Coordination Board
Health Filipino Task Force on Aids
Home & Hobbies Mach 1!
Music PhilMusic.Com
Print/Literature Phil. Daily Inquirer Interactive
Sports Philippine Basketball Association
Travel UP Mountaineers Online
TV & Radio GMA Quest h
Weird Bert Is Evil!


People’s Choice Awards winners

Category Site Name URL
Arts & Design Webcafe Philippines http://www.web-café.com
Business & Corporate PSE Online
Children & Education The UP Manila Junior Jaycees
Computers Designet Phils. Web Facility Center
Culture RealPinoy.Com
Environment BWF Online
Family & Personal The Mighty Menard Page
Film & Celebrities Donna Cruz
Games NBA Live 98 Shoot Out Modem League
Government & Politics Phil. Political Update
Health Health Alert
Home & Hobbies Mach 1!
Music OPM Music Central
Print/Literature Phil. Daily Inquirer Interactive
Sports The MAGNET Site
Travel Pangasinan Web Site
TV & Radio Radio 1: Official Site hhttp://www.web-café.com/radio1
Weird Bobong Pinoy pinoy


Original link to access list of winners:
Internet Archive Link 1
Internet Archive Link 2



Special Awards

Two special distinct awards were also given away that night. The ‘Intel E-Commerce Award for Small to Medium Businesses’ went to Magoo’s Pizza (, and the ‘PLDT Web Site of the Year’ award went to Jim Ayson’s


The 1998 Philippine Web Awards Nominee Logo

Each website that made it to the final nomination round are given this distinction, they can display the nomination icon that will give the website more accolade.


Featuring ‘Bert is evil’

There was a special portion of the awards night that featured the ‘Bert is evil’ website, a parody website founded by Dino Ignacio (a Filipino-American), which won the ‘Best Websites – Weird’ category in the US Webby Awards in 1998.


Philippine Internet stars

Winners of the 1998 Philippine Webby Awards. December 9, 1998 @ Hard Rock Cafe, Makati, Philippines

The 1st Philippine Web Awards has been graced with the attendance of popular webmasters — Jim Ayson, founder of, Ronnie Miranda (celebrity webmaster of several celebrity sites, such as The Sharon Cuneta site), Alastair Israel, founder of, the Philippines’ version of, is our first local search engine.

Other future repeat winners also made their mark in the 1st Philippine Web awards night. Ronald RG Guanzon of Web Cafe, The UP Mountaineers website, The Philippine Daily Inquirer website, The Jose Rizal website, are all award-winners in this night. These websites will also win several awards in future Phil Web Awards. Webmistress Cheryl Fuerte Inday (who would win more web awards in the coming years) made her first appearance in the 1998 Philippine Webby Awards where she won a People’s Choice award for the Donna Cruz website.


Real Celebrities

The night was graced by real celebrities as well. G Toengi, a popular Philippine celebrity has graced the show, as well as The Eraserheads, the most popular rock band in the Philippines during that time, performed and wowed the crowd.


1st mark of Philippine website excellence

The 1st Philippine Web Awards / Philippine Webby Awards has truly marked the start of outstanding Internet websites in the Philippines and has inspired future and upcoming website creators, IT firms, Philippine companies to prepare their sites well, not just for their audience but to get nominated in the yearly web awards. The influx of entries in the succeeding web awards is proof of this monumental first event in Philippine Internet history.


The URL of the 1st Philippine Webby Awards is (Internet Archive link), which was later changed to